Masters Basketball Association awards star players


Josh Markowitz

The Masters Basketball Association wraps up their season by honoring seven players with individual awards.

Carol Queiroz, TBN Executive Producer

For the past three months, over 50 competition-fueled students gathered after school in Strayer Gym for the Masters Basketball Association season, hoping to take their team to the finals. And when the final buzzer sounded, team Ice Spice, composed of juniors Adam Bello, Lucas Petrini and Emmanuel Harris and sophomores Jonathan Mafuru, Azzan Thomas and Eddie Tam, won the second annual MBA championship in the first undefeated complete season in MBA history. But they weren’t the only players recognized for an outstanding season. 

MBA leadership, founders and seniors Charlie Cooper and Josh Barshay announced individual awards to players who exhibited growth, skill and improvement throughout the season during the Nov. 30 morning meeting. They held the awards to “honor the achievements of the players and coaches who have made the MBA into one of the premier basketball leagues on Earth.” Six awards were given out ranging from Sixth Man of The Year to Most Valuable Player. MBA leadership nominated three players for each category and all members of the association voted to determine the individual award winners. 

Senior Noah Kassell-Yung was this year’s recipient for the Defensive Player of The Year award, served to honor a player who has shown exceptional defensive skills during their games. He expressed his appreciation for the award.

“Defensive players don’t get a lot of credit, it’s usually shooters who get more appreciation, but to be appreciated for the work I do on the defensive end was really fun and rewarding.” Kassell-Yung said. 

Along with Kassell-Yung, seniors Mir Ahmed, David Ferrando and Matthew Ingles were awarded  Sixth Man of The Year, Most Valuable Player and Coach of The Year respectively. Sophomore Thomas O’Grady won Most Improved Player, and freshmen Richard Wu was awarded Rookie of The Year.